Africa News Line Monday, 10.03.2022, 2:19 PM
Welcome Guest | RSS
Site menu

Main » 2018 » October » 14 » Winners of the MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity 2018
8:01 AM
Winners of the MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity 2018

TOKYO & MONTREAL-Saturday 13 October 2018 [ AETOS Wire ]

(BUSINESS WIRE)-- The winners of the MIDORI Prize for Biodiversity 2018 were announced today. The MIDORI Prize is a prestigious biennial international prize organized by the AEON Environmental Foundation and the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity to honour individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity at global, regional or local levels.

The winners of the 2018 MIDORI Prize are:

Dr. Kathy MacKinnon (U.K.)
Chair, IUCN World Commission on Protected Areas

Mr. Assad Serhal (Lebanon)
Director General, Society for the Protection of Nature in Lebanon

Dr. Abdul Hamid Zakri (Malaysia)
Former Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of Malaysia

Each of the prize winners is awarded a commemorative gift and plaque and a monetary prize of 100,000 US dollars to support their work. They will be honoured at an Award Ceremony to be held on 31 October 2018 in Tokyo, Japan. Public lectures will be delivered by the prize winners at a Winners’ Forum on the same day. The three prize winners will be featured in a video and exhibition at the fourteenth meeting of the Conference of the Parties to the Convention on Biological Diversity which will be held from 17 to 29 November 2018 in Sharm El-Sheikh, Egypt.

More information is available at


For further information, please contact
AEON Environmental Foundation

Permalink :

Views: 142 | Added by: africanewsline | Rating: 0.0/0
Total comments: 0
Name *:
Email *:
Code *:

Entries archive